Category Archive for: ‘California Dental Regulation’

  • San Francisco Fair Chance Ordinance to take effect on August 13th

    Effective August 13, 2014, businesses with 20 or more employees located or doing business in San Francisco must comply with the city’s new Fair Chance Ordinance. On February 4, the San Francisco Board of Supervisors passed the new local law which implements restrictions on criminal …

    Read More
  • FDA Issues Infection Control Reminder About Multiple-Use Dental Dispenser

    The Food and Drug Administration (FDA) issued an advisory notifying dental practitioners to take care when using dental dispensers on multiple patients. Multiple-use dental dispensers, also called dental “syringes” are devices used to deliver various dental products such as impression materials and adhesives to an …

    Read More
  • Communicating with Hearing-Impaired Patients

    We have received calls in the past from dentists asking if they are required to pay for a sign-language interpreter for hearing-impaired patients. The short answer to the question is – it depends. The Americans with Disabilities Act requires dentists to provide care for patients …

    Read More
  • OSHA Dental Compliance – Written Plans

    Do you know OSHA requires dental offices to have written OSHA safety plans in place that specify how various hazards in the office will be controlled to protect employees? Employers, including dental offices, must have these customized written plans onsite and available to employees covering …

    Read More
  • Check Your Mail – OSHA Review July August Newsletter

    The July/August issue of OSHA Review, providing an update on HIPAA requirements, has been mailed. Enclosed with the issue is an informational document that answers dentists frequently asked questions about HIPAA. Note this issue is worth 2 CE credits toward your license renewal. The HIPAA …

    Read More
  • California Employers – Get Ready for Minimum Wage Increase

    On July 1, 2014, the first of two minimum wage increases planned for the next two years will go into effect in California. The minimum wage, currently at $8 per hour, will increase to $9 per hour on July 1, and will go up to …

    Read More
  • OSHA Training – It’s the Employer’s Duty

    OSHA requires employers to properly train their employees to do their jobs safely. The premise, for all employers in the United States, is to ensure that employees are trained on the hazards associated with their job, as well as on ways to mitigate the hazards. …

    Read More
  • Standard Precautions Versus Universal Precautions to Control BBPs

    OSHA requires, at a minimum, dental offices to follow the concept of universal precautions to control occupational exposure to bloodborne pathogens (BBPs), while the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) recommends the adherence to standard precautions. The term universal precautions refers to the concept …

    Read More
  • CA RDH’s Must Post Notice to Consumers Too

    All dental practices in California must post a provide notification that Dental Board licensees in California are under the jurisdiction of the Dental Board of California (DBC). For practices with registered dental hygienists (RDHs) on staff, an additional notification stating that RDHs are licensed by …

    Read More
  • California Dental Practice Act Training Mailing this Week

    April 16, 2014 – Check Your Mail The May/June 2014 issue of OSHA Review, which is the mandatory California Dental Practice Act course, has been mail to our subscribers. Enclosed with this issue is a copy of the new Notice of Licensure by the Dental …

    Read More
Page 1 of 612345...Last »